*Ahhhhhhhhh* – Phils take out frustration on Astros

Yes, I did think the Phillies would win today. No, I didn’t think Cole Hamels‘ start would yield a 15-6 shellacking. But, after bombs from Geoff Jenkins, Pat Burrell, and Chase Utley, that is exactly what happened. Hamels was off his game today. I’d like to blame the umps delay in the middle of Carlos Lee‘s soon to be three-run jack at bat, but that would be a little too homerish. Hamels simply didn’t pitch well. He seemed constantly behind batters, had a high pitch count early, and his ball to strike ratio was poor compared to usual (85-49 PC-ST). 6 earned runs in 4 innings. Unexpected after a scoreless streak of 19 straight innings. I’m not worried, however. These games happen to the best of them.

Not strong on the mound, Hamels was 2 for 2 at the plate with a run scored and an RBI. Go figure. Well, actually, Hamels is hitting .345 on the season (damn!). Hamels RBI hit came in the 4th, making it 5-4 Astros. Michael Bourn added one in the bottom half of the inning, and the game remained extremely frustrating through the 5th.

Come the top of the 6th, the Phils ripped off the chains of frustration that have held them back the last 2 games. 5 runs in the 6th and then 6 in the 7th. Final score, 15-6. In short, did not see that coming.

A couple points of intrigue concerning Charlie Manuel: 1) WHY OH WHY is Carlos Ruiz bunting up 4 runs? Ruiz stuck out on a foul bunt. 2) WHY OH WHY is “SlowTaguchi pinch running for Pat Burrell? Charlie has got to stop with this. It was the 7th innning and the Phils only had a 2 run lead at that point. I don’t get it. Taguchi ended up waltzing home. Certainly Burrell could’ve done the same. Oh, Cholly.

I’m back to DC tomorrow. Phils are off to Colorado to try to finally win a game against the Rockies, six 7 months late.

By the way, I am not going to miss the Astros. They are an extremely pesky team. Also, that stupid train is only cool until it’s tooting after a Carlos Lee home run.

-Greg Berlin

2 responses to “*Ahhhhhhhhh* – Phils take out frustration on Astros

  1. I agree . . . So Taguchi is just not meant to be with the Phils. I would take Tadihito back anyday. There is not one aspect of his game that I feel that he does well. (hitting, fielding, and running) I would like to see them try to trade him out for a better bench talent or even bring someone up from the minors. I like the punch that Pat Burrell brings in later innings. If Charlie keeps switching him out his bat won’t be there in case it is a close game. I still feel that Charlie is making solid decisions, but So Taguchi !! I’m not so sure about that one . . . . . .

  2. I take this back since last night he actually went 3 for 5. Can you believe it? I guess I need to make more critical comments about him to keep his bat hot! Go figure a Philly fan being critical . . . .

Leave a Reply

